In the State of Wisconsin, you are permitted to carry a firearm in public provided that you’ve obtained a concealed carry permit. However, there are limits to this permit. Just because you’ve obtained your permit doesn’t mean that you have a free pass to do whatever what you want.
To be a responsible gun owner, it’s necessary to understand what you are and aren’t allowed to do after you’ve obtained your permit. Here are the ins and outs of concealed carry in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
Who isn’t Eligible for Concealed Carry in Milwaukee?
In the State of Wisconsin, you must be at least 21 years of age in order to obtain a concealed carry license. Those who are caught concealing and carrying under the age of 21 will be charged with a number of different crimes.
While those with only a few minor charges on their record are still allowed to conceal and carry, those who have committed felonies are expressly forbidden from obtaining a concealed carry license.
There is some gray area when it comes to this, however. You might benefit from speaking to a lawyer about your specific situation.
Mentally Unstable Individuals
It should also be noted that mentally unstable individuals are not legally allowed to obtain a concealed carry license. However, there is no screening carried out to ascertain as to whether or not a person is, in fact, mentally stable.
You will only be forbidden from obtaining a license if you were declared mentally unstable in a court of law.
Those Without Permits
It’s simple: if you have not yet obtained a concealed carry license, you cannot conceal and carry a firearm in the City of Milwaukee, or in the State of Wisconsin.
Fortunately, it’s fairly easy to obtain such a license. You can sign up for one by clicking here.
Where is Concealed Carry Not Allowed?
Though concealed carry licenses allow you to carry a firearm in some public places, there are other public places in which a civilian is never allowed to carry a firearm. These places are described below.
You are not legally permitted to carry firearms in prisons or on prison ground.
Mental Health Facilities
Just as with prisons, firearms cannot be carried in or around mental health facilities.
Under no circumstances can a civilian carry a firearm in a court of law.
Airports are also gun-free zones.
Whether it be a bar or a liquor store, you are typically not permitted to conceal and carry in establishments which serve alcohol.
The Repercussions for Breaking Concealed Carry Laws
Depending on the exact law that you break, you can face different repercussions for illegally concealing and carrying. Those who conceal and carry a firearm without first obtaining a permit can be punished by up to 9 months in prison, and by up to $10,000 in fines.
If you’ve been expressly forbidden from owning a firearm, and you choose to conceal and carry anyways, you can be punished with up to 10 years in prison, and with up to $25,000 in fines.
Let’s say you already have a conceal and carry permit. While this allows you to carry in some public areas, it does not allow you to carry in other public areas mentioned above. If you were to carry in a public area which is not permitted, you could be punished by up to 30 days in jail, and with fines of up to $500.
Charged with Breaking Concealed Carry Laws in Milwaukee?
Have you been charged with breaking concealed carry laws in Milwaukee? If so, we advise that you build a strong legal defense. Need a defense attorney? Hartley Pecora has you covered.
We have defended a number of clients against weapons charges in the Milwaukee area. Our team of attorneys is ready to fight for you in a court of law.
We are available 24/7. Contact us now!
While you are allowed to conceal and carry firearms in some instances in the state of Wisconsin, there are still laws on the books which dicate what you can and can’t do with them. You don’t have carte blanche to do with them what you want.
To keep yourself out of legal trouble, it’s important to know what the laws are regarding concealing and carrying. This is what you should know about concealed carry laws in Wisconsin.
Who is Allowed to Conceal and Carry in Wisconsin?
As with the driving of an automobile or the imbibing of alcohol, the concealing and carrying of a firearm has a minimum age requirement. In the state of Wisconsin, this age is 21 years old.
Anyone under the age of 21 who conceals and carries a firearm will be subject to various legal percussions.
In order to conceal and carry a firearm in the state of Wisconsin, you must have a relatively clean legal record. While you can still carry with a few minor offenses on your record, you will be forbidden to carry if you have any felonies.
This is usually determined on a case-by-case basis, so it might be wise to consult a lawyer in order to determine your status.
Mentally Stable Individuals
Not only must your legal record be fairly spotless in order for you to conceal and carry a firearm, but your mental health record as well.
However, only those individuals who have been declared mentally unfit in a court of law are typically subject to the regulations. You aren’t required to undergo a mental health screening.
At this point in time, if you’re going to conceal and carry in public in Wisconsin, you’ll need a concealed carry permit. You can obtain one of these permits by applying at this website.
The state will typically run a background check on you to ensure that you’re fit to hold a firearm in public.
Where Can You Not Conceal and Carry in Wisconsin?
Regardless of whether or not you’ve got a permit, you are now allowed to conceal and carry in a detention center or prison.
Mental Health Institutions
While you may be able to conceal and carry in certain parts of mental health institutions, you cannot conceal and carry in secured parts of the buildings.
In the vast majority of cases, you cannot conceal and carry while in a court of law.
Airport Security Checkpoints
Concealed and carried firearms are one of many types of weapons which cannot be taken into airport security checkpoints.
In most instances, you are not allowed to conceal and carry firearms in establishments which sell or serve alcohol.
Penalties for Violating Concealed Carry Laws in Wisconsin
Those who are carrying a concealed firearm without a permit are subject to penalties in the ways of up to 9 months in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines.
If you’re caught concealing and carrying whilst also being legally forbidden from having a firearm, you are subject to up to $25,000 in fines, and up to 10 years in prison.
If you have a permit to conceal and carry, but are caught concealing and carrying in a forbidden area, you can be fined up to $500, and can spend up to 30 days in jail.
Charged with a Concealed Carry Violation?
If you’ve been charged with violating concealed carry laws in Wisconsin, you face not only stiff fines, but possible jail time. For this reason, you need to take your charges very seriously.
If you’re going to stand a chance against the charges, you’re going to need excellent legal defense on your side. Fortunately for you, you’ve found it.
Here at Hartley Pecora Law Offices, we’re well-versed in defending clients against concealed carry charges. Our goal is to get you off with as light a sentence as possible.
Schedule your complimentary legal consultation now!
Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.